sexta-feira, 26 de agosto de 2016

Arthur C. Clarke Award

Vencedor 2016

O Arthur C. Clarke Award é oferecido ao melhor romance de ficção científica publicado no Reino Unido. O vencedor foi anunciado a 24 de Agosto de 2016 numa cerimónia apresentada pela Foyles Bookshop, Charing Cross Road, em Londres. Children of Time de Adrian Adrian Tchaikovsky foi o grande vencedor deste ano. O autor disse espantado "I think I'm about to die" e ainda falou do seu livro e dos outros romances nomeados: "It’s a book about spiders, but it’s also a book about empathy. One of the things that struck me about the shortlist for this year is empathy as a theme that runs through a lot of these books. Empathy across races, across borders… One of the things the book is about is the ability of humanity to seize value in things that are different, and the danger when that doesn’t happen. I guess what I’m saying is, the spiders are not from outer space after all, they are, in a way, in all of us."

Children of Time
Adrian Tchaikovsky
Publicado a 4 de Junho de 2015 pela PanMacmillan

A race for survival among the stars... Humanity's last survivors escaped earth's ruins to find a new home. But when they find it, can their desperation overcome its dangers?


The last remnants of the human race left a dying Earth, desperate to find a new home among the stars. Following in the footsteps of their ancestors, they discover the greatest treasure of the past age - a world terraformed and prepared for human life.

But all is not right in this new Eden. In the long years since the planet was abandoned, the work of its architects has borne disastrous fruit. The planet is not waiting for them, pristine and unoccupied. New masters have turned it from a refuge into mankind's worst nightmare.

Now two civilizations are on a collision course, both testing the boundaries of what they will do to survive. As the fate of humanity hangs in the balance, who are the true heirs of this new Earth?

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário